A design project

In learning to teach design and art, it is important to be able to do design and art projects. With this as the motivating factor I decided to try my hand at doing a design project…the old school way. This meant as little use of computer and technology (as possible).

The project I chose was one I had got from a very experienced design teacher at Frank Joubert art school in Cape Town. It basically involved producing a poster for a made up superhero which advertises his/her/its strengths and weaknesses. Unsaid in this is that you have to first conceptualize your hero, come up with a cool name and some powers. The other very interesting thing that the project wants is that you should then dress up as the superhero and feature on your own poster! 😀

Deciding on a focus superpower wasn’t too tough for me, I’ve always wanted to be able to fly. 🙂 I immediately thought of an eagle type and got some reference:

A basic google images search gave some cool reference.

A basic google images search gave some cool reference.

I then analyzed these images and saw a some cool features:

Some notes I took after looking at the reference.

Some notes I took after looking at the reference.

Not to overload this one post, I’ll continue with the project tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

