A design project 03

So I had my superhero photos ready. I chose the two that I thought were most attractive/ communicative. These I pulled into Photoshop, made it B&W (by making a solid black layer set to color), added a dark vignette, played with the levels a bit and added a simple filter. I felt that this would be easy enough to teach in any class as it only really requires one computer. They looked like this:

I added a vignette, upped contrast and possibly put a slight blurring/De-focused filter on it.I made it B&W by putting a black layer over it set to color mode, played with the levels to up the contrast, added a vignette and sharpened it to the extreme!

Having chosen my background image and decided on my superhero characteristics, I needed to think about the font I would use as well as finalize a logo. These would then have to be traced (manually again) onto paper, cut out and then pasted down onto the printed image. I never enjoyed doing this when I was at school or university as I do struggle to be neat and careful with it.

The final image, when I was done, looked something a little like this:

The final image, advertising my new superhero "Golden Raptor" and his super powers

The final image, advertising my new superhero “Golden Raptor” and his super powers

So that was it. Doing this project reminded me of some of the constraints of a student in school. When I finished school and varsity I went with the computer way of doing things and didn’t look back. I forgot about the battle of keeping things neat and tidy when working with scissors and glue! :/ Whether learning to do things by hand first is better is a moot point. In South Africa, it is not possible to move onto computers earlier as many of the kids don’t have access to one and doing so would just widen the gap.

One thought on “A design project 03

Leave a Reply

