Some doodles – Modigliani self portrait

I teach art at Camps Bay Primary School. Last term we had 2 Belgian students join us as student teachers. The one student lead a grade 5 class in doing self portraits in the style of Modigliani. They sketched themselves in pencil first while using a mirror and then used oil pastels to add colour.

I like to try my classes artworks before they do it themselves and below is what resulted! I loved doing this as because of Modigliani’s strange style, there is no pressure to try and make it look exactly like the real thing!

My own self portrait done in Modigliani's style in oil pastels.

My own self portrait done in Modigliani’s style in oil pastels.

Leave a Reply

