Protea Flower

Most of the art I do now days starts with an idea for a lesson I could teach. This started with a project I wanted to lead my adult class in. It was started by spraying a piece of white triplex paper/mounting board with water. I then dripped a few drops of Teddy Dye onto the wet paper, turning the page as I did so. This gives a very cool, abstract background. I was doing a still life at the time with my grade 7s, where they had to draw an arrangement of Fynbos. Fortunately this gave me a protea flower to draw! I drew this, first in pencil and the using fineliner. I then cut it out and stuck it onto the colourful background. I loved this project and plan to make a much bigger one!

Protea.jpg

Leave a Reply

