Day of the dead cat

DSC_0239This was an idea I came up with for my grade 4s. We first looked at the Mexican culture in particular their art. We looked at the day of the dead artworks. The school I am at has a cat called Sassa that all the kids love! My original idea was that they draw this cat in a Mexican style. As the project went on however, I got more and more into the idea of drawing the cat as a Mexican day of the dead, with the skull and bones. The images I found online looked SO cool!

It was only by the time I was seeing my third grade 4 class that I started calling the project “Day of the dead cat”. And then, tragedy struck! I was excitedly telling the class about the project and how cool it would be (most of the kids had been excited about doing a cat like this) when I noticed one boy crying. I finished with my talking and took him aside. It was revealed that his family kitten had passed away the day before! He was so distraught he could not continue the lesson! I went back to calling the project “Mexican Sassa” 🙂

DSC_0283

Leave a Reply

